Confused

I’ve always been a huge hopeless romantic that is extremely affectionate and willing to do absolutely anything for the person I’m with.

Right now, I’m with someone who is the complete opposite. He doesn’t follow the stereotypes of love, doesn’t believe in gross displays of affection, saying I Love You, marriage, spending a lot of time together, Valentine’s Day, planning dates….

He has also been by himself, he doesn’t have many friends and he’s never had a relationship. He spends all his free time playing video games. He needs all that time alone. And I’m someone who loves spending time with the people I love at all times.

I’m at a hard point in my life. He’s telling me these things and it’s slowly breaking my heart. I can see us getting married and starting a family, spending our lives together. But that’s not something he believes in. He doesn’t even know if he wants to be with one person for the rest of his life.

I love him so much, and he makes me so happy when we aren’t arguing over these things. But lately, almost every day we argue over these difference in futures. He says he doesn’t know what he wants right now, he doesn’t feel happy in this town, he has no idea what kind of future he wants.

I know he has these feelings because he’s never been in a relationship before and it’s threatening his time alone. But he doesn’t realize how willing I am to give him everything he wants to make him happy so we can be happy together.

I just want to be with him and continue having our cooking nights, and laughs, and days together. But I’m a persuer, and he’s a distancer

I don’t know what to do.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

